Semester in LA Essay

In the Spring of 2018, I applied to the Semester-In-LA program through the Media School at Ohio University. After submitting an essay and going through an interview process, I was accepted. Unfortunately, due to financial reasons I didn’t progress any further with the program. Even so, the essay I wrote is such a strong representative of myself as whole and expresses parts of myself that are sometimes difficult to portray in other forms of writing. It’s a reminder of who I am and my ultimate goals in life.


 

 

What defines me now in life is not the complete definition. However, I do appreciate how it started. It started with endless hours running past trees and building cities from the Earth in my sandbox. It started with a camera, and the discovery of capturing a moment I felt worthwhile. My passion for photography is something I will hold onto forever. It started with the profound moment of silence in Montana, a moment I’ll do my best to never forget. It progressed every time I went somewhere new. It progressed with every new relationship and friendship I created. And it will continue to progress as I create my own path in this world. This is what is defining me.

 

I have reached a pivotal time in my journey. This is the time where I am the ultimate commander of my fate. I have never once been satisfied with being average. My biggest fear is waking up trapped inside a white picket fence. I visualize my future full of excursions and achievements. I envision success in my career; building a reputation of a perceptive, innovative and respected woman. I want to pursue my passions by working in marketing and promotion. More specifically, within restaurant, tourism and event industry. To obtain my goals I have realized I can never stand still. With an opportunity such as the Semester-in-LA program, there will be relationships I develop and experiences I endure that will catapult me to where I want to be professionally.

 

I want to surround myself with like-minded people. People with passion and determination. The kinds of people who encourage you to move forward in life rather than pulling you backwards. I want to spend time with others that have the proper appreciation for the past. I want to spend time with people that understand the power and influence of cultural icons Andy Warhol and Salvador Dali. People who want to discover the world, spend their days in museums and cafes, those are the people I want to associate with. People who have depth and interests beyond the here and now, those are the people I forecast in my circle.

 

I want to spend late nights working on projects I feel passionately about, enjoying every second of the struggle. I want to take this program and utilize it to benefit my personal growth and career. I will use this time to live without boundaries. I’ll speak my mind and share my ideas without apprehension. I will absorb every single second of my day and be open to constructive criticism. I want to learn from leaders in my industry and create connections that will last a lifetime. I want to tackle the unknown I’ve yet to encounter and mold myself into who I aspire to be.

 

I am ready for the moments that will add to my definition.

 

Leave a comment