Columbus Literacy Council / Savings with Sam

I began working at Columbus Literacy Council in August of 2020, after the Covid-19 crisis had caused the organization to move their programs online. “Cooking with Claudia” is a weekly cooking show they created in order to encourage and educate their community to cook while teaching them valuable life skills. When I began working here, I felt it important to expand on the financial aspect of cooking, especially since a majority of our assistance goes to those at or below the poverty line. I began my own short, which aired thirty minutes before Claudia’s and spent a few minutes going over the cost of ingredients and a few easy savings tips. This show has forced me out of my comfort zone, and as a result I’ve gained confidence in myself I would’ve never had the opportunity to otherwise. I conduct the financial research, write the script for each episode, and host every one.

Below is the promotional blurb I wrote for our website and advertising purposes.

“Connect with CLC every Friday at 2:30PM for a quick chat about how to save your money. Sam guides you through smart spending habits, and teaches you to the importance of planning ahead when grocery shopping. From price comparisons, to daily tips and tricks on how to save money in your everyday life, this quick weekly lesson will help keep you on a better financial track.
This series focuses on building self-awareness when it comes to money, and creating an environment to better understand financial literacy. We are addressing small and manageable changes one can make in their daily life so that they can not only save and earn more money, but so they have a baseline understanding of how day to day finances work.”

Leave a comment